Arts and Culture

For great arts and culture content and discussion

both on-air and online, start here. Arts and cultural programming on WXXI TV and Radio as well as online discussion and special events hosted by WXXI are featured below.

Featured Programming

Tuesday, November 11, 2014 - 1:00pm
Backstage Pass host Julia Figueras welcomes Madrigalia
Monday, November 24, 2014 - 7:00pm
For Navajo and Hopi Tribes, running is more than a sport. 
Monday, November 24, 2014 - 8:00pm
Take a moving look at a new generation of Americans struggling to be both Native and modern.
Monday, November 24, 2014 - 10:00pm
Celebrate the Alabama studio that united black and white to create music for the generations.
Tuesday, November 25, 2014 - 10:00pm
Johnny Carson (1925 –2005) was seen by more people on more occasions than anyone else in American history.
Thursday, November 27, 2014 - 12:00pm
Commissioned by Mike and Kay McCarthy and brilliantly executed by composer Carol Barnett and librettist Marisha Chamberlain
Friday, November 28, 2014 - 10:30pm
Albert Paley, one of the world’s best-known metal sculptors, joins WXXI President Norm Silverstein for an episode of Norm & Company
Monday, December 1, 2014 - 8:00pm
A Steiff Doctor Dolittle character; Pablo Picasso linocut; pair of Italian carved door panels; and more!
Tuesday, December 2, 2014 - 8:00pm
Explore the life and legend of this iconic entertainer through never-before-seen footage and interviews

Recently Aired

Friday, September 26, 2014 - 12:00pm
Brasso Profundo, part of New Horizons, and the Mambo Kings perform a free concert in celebration of PBS Arts Fall Festival.
Friday, November 21, 2014 - 9:00pm
Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Cats, the second longest-running Broadway musical
Monday, November 17, 2014 - 8:00pm
This compelling documentary invites viewers into the lives of contemporary Native American role models living in the midwest.
Friday, November 14, 2014 - 9:00pm
Get an up-close look at the music industry’s resilience in the digital age.
Tuesday, November 11, 2014 - 1:00pm
Backstage Pass host Julia Figueras welcomes Madrigalia
share

 

Arts and Culture