Arts and Culture

For great arts and culture content and discussion

both on-air and online, start here. Arts and cultural programming on WXXI TV and Radio as well as online discussion and special events hosted by WXXI are featured below.

Featured Programming

Wednesday, October 1, 2014 - 10:00pm
Learn about the African Kushites who overthrew the ancient Egyptians and ruled for nearly 100 years.
Friday, October 3, 2014 - 9:00pm
The star-studded special celebrates the trailblazing music series’ 40th anniversary.
Sunday, October 5, 2014 - 10:30pm
View the castle that was the stand-in for “Duneagle” in the “Downton Abbey” Christmas episode.
Tuesday, October 7, 2014 - 9:00pm
Follow women of showbiz as they influence one of the country’s biggest commodities: entertainment.
Friday, October 10, 2014 - 9:00pm
Nathan Lane stars in Tony Award-nominated play "The Nance."

Recently Aired

Friday, September 26, 2014 - 12:00pm
Brasso Profundo, part of New Horizons, and the Mambo Kings perform a free concert in celebration of PBS Arts Fall Festival.
Monday, September 29, 2014 - 10:00pm
Celebrate the 2014 recipients of the 27th annual Hispanic Heritage Awards.
Saturday, September 27, 2014 - 12:00pm
From the creators of South Park, and winner of nine Tony Awards, including best musical,
Wednesday, September 24, 2014 - 8:00pm
Tune in for this annual broadcast celebrating the Jewish New Year. 
Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 10:30pm
Take a hilarious year-long ride with iconic comedian Joan Rivers in her 76th year of life.
share

 

Arts and Culture