Arts and Culture

Pacific Heartbeat: Under a Jarvis Moon

Mon, 05/11/2015 - 7:00pm

The story of 130 young men from Hawai'i who, from the late 1930s through the early years of World War II, were part of a clandestine mission by the U.S. federal government to occupy desert islands in the middle of the Pacific.

Hochstein at High Falls Concert Series Presents Marimba Band

Thu, 06/13/2013 - 12:10pm - 12:50pm

Don't miss “one of the Rochester area’s unique and notable treasures" perform during this free noontime concert.

Were The World Mine at 11:00 AM

Sat, 05/11/2013 - 11:00am - 12:00pm

A quartet of mismatched lovers and a band of bumbling rustics

Mel Brooks: Make Some Noise, an American Masters film

Sun, 06/09/2013 - 8:00pm

Laugh along as comedy giant Mel Brooks shares stories about his personal life and career. 

Great Performances at the Met: Verdi's Rigoletto

Sun, 05/19/2013 - 12:00pm

Tony Award-winning director Michael Mayer (Spring Awakening) makes his Met debut with a new production of Verdi's Rigoletto.

Do You Hear the People Sing

Sat, 05/04/2013 - 12:00pm - 1:00pm

With glorious new staging and dazzlingly reimagined scenery

Pacific Heartbeat: Waimea 'Ukulele & Slack Key Guitar

Tue, 05/14/2013 - 7:00pm

This performance documentary provides an insider's peek into the unparalleled talent and camaraderie of the Waimea 'Ukulele and Slack Key Guitar Institute

Among B-Boys

Wed, 05/13/2015 - 7:00pm

Explores the intersection of rugged urban b-boyin’ (breakdancing) and the traditional roots of Hmong culture.

10 Buildings That Changed America

Sun, 05/12/2013 - 10:45pm

Survey 10 works of American architecture that changed the way we live. 

Anna May Wong: In Her Own Words

Mon, 05/06/2013 - 9:00pm

Anna May Wong knew she wanted to be a movie star from the time she was a young girl—and by 17 she became one.

Syndicate content