Arts and Culture

Xerox Rochester International Jazz Festival

Sun, 12/16/2012 - 7:00pm

Pianist, singer, and composer Eliane Elias kicks off a new season of the Xerox Rochester International Jazz Festival series

Great Performances: The Beatles' Magical Mystery Tour

Wed, 03/13/2013 - 8:00pm

Fans of British rock sensations The Beatles will not want to miss Wednesday, March 13

Chorus Novus

Fri, 12/14/2012 - 1:00pm

Backstage Pass host Julia Figueras welcomes Chorus Novus and an audience from Valley Manor to a live concert of holiday music performed at WXXI’s studios.

LIVE FROM LINCOLN CENTER: The Richard Tucker Opera Gala

Thu, 12/13/2012 - 8:00pm

Enjoy performances by the 2012 Richard Tucker award winner joined by renowned opera luminaries. 

Titanic Tuesday

Tue, 12/11/2012 - 8:00pm

On Tuesday, December 11, 2012 WXXI presents three Titanic specials.

Yoo-Hoo Mrs. Goldberg

Sun, 07/21/2013 - 10:30pm

After a popular 17-year run on radio, The Goldbergs became television's very first character-driven domestic sitcom in 1949.

Fake or Fortune?

Sun, 12/09/2012 - 8:00pm

Have you ever viewed a painting labeled as a masterpiece, only to wonder if this work is authentic or fake?

State of the Re:Union with Al Letson "Internet Communities: Making the Virtual Real"

Sun, 12/02/2012 - 9:00pm

At this point in the 21st century, it’s kind of impossible to talk about community-building without, at some point, talking about the internet.

A John Waters "Stage Notes"

Sat, 12/01/2012 - 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Join host Robert Hammond for a titillating edition of Stage Notes with John Waters (Hairspray, Cry-Baby, Pink Flamingos).

Candles Burning Brightly

Tue, 12/11/2012 - 12:00pm

Mindy Ratner and Bill Morelock offer music and stories for the devotional and delectable aspects of Chanukah: from the significance of the lighting of candles, to the essential ritual of preparing (and eating!) latkes. 

Syndicate content