Arts and Culture

Independent Lens "For Once in My Life" on WXXI-TV

Thu, 01/12/2012 - 8:00pm

Made up of 28 musicians and singers who all have severe mental and physical disabilities, the Spirit of Goodwill Band is a raucous home away from home where members are free to display their talent, humor and tenacity.

American Radioworks' Say It Loud: Great Speeches of Civil Rights and African American Identity

Sun, 02/20/2011 - 10:00pm

Radioworks honors Black History Month with speeches by some of the most influencial activists of the Civil Rights Era.

Adjust Your Color: The Truth of Petey Greene, An Independent Lens film on WXXI-TV

Tue, 02/15/2011 - 10:00pm

Petey Greene became a leading activist during some of the most tumultuous years in recent history.

Maya Angelou's Black History Month Special

Sun, 02/17/2013 - 9:00pm

Host Maya Angelou poetically and historically covers milestones by African Americans in Nobel Peace Prize, Grammy, Academy Awards, and cultural awards.

Independent Lens "When I Rise"

Wed, 02/08/2012 - 7:00pm

The story of Barbara Smith Conrad, a gifted music student who struggled against the odds to reach the heights of international opera.

Afropop: The Ultimate Cultural Exchange "Uprooted and Sanza Hanza"

Wed, 02/02/2011 - 7:00pm

The story of three reggae musicians in Jamaica.

Pioneers of Television "Crime Dramas" on WXXI-TV

Tue, 02/01/2011 - 8:00pm

These ground-breaking shows paved the way for our favorite contemporary crime dramas.

»

Alma's Jazzy Marriage

Sun, 12/23/2012 - 9:30pm

A beautiful love story set in the greatest jazz era in American history.

This American Life: Slow to React

Thu, 01/27/2011 - 9:00pm

People with slow reaction times. Very, very slow.

Rough Cut - Woodworking with Tommy Mac Marathon on WXXI Create

Sat, 01/29/2011 - 6:00am

Tune in while Tommy Mac guides you through amazing home woodworking projects.

»
Syndicate content