Arts and Culture

Mornings on Classical 91.5, February 27 - March 2

Monday, February 27

Music by Brahms, Gershwin, and William Dawson

Garrison Keillor on the first American poet to be taken seriously abroad


J.S. Bach’s short, beautiful cantata 22 (Jesus nahm zu sich die Zwolfe, or Jesus called to him the twelve)

 

Tuesday, February 28

Bonsai People - The Vision of Muhammad Yunus

Wed, 03/14/2012 - 3:00pm

What if you could harness the power of the free market to solve the problems of hunger, poverty, and inequality?

Oscar Hammerstein II – Out of My Dreams

Fri, 03/16/2012 - 9:00pm

Celebrate one of the most acclaimed lyricist and librettist of the 20th century.

Spirit of the Emerald Isle MARATHON

Sat, 03/08/2014 - 6:00am

Today everyone is Irish as we celebrate St. Patrick’s Day.

The Story of Costume Drama: The Greatest Stories Ever Told on WXXI-TV

Sun, 03/04/2012 - 10:30pm

Celebrate 50 years of small-screen historical costume drama.

Joe Bonamassa: Beacon Theatre – Live from New York

Sat, 03/17/2012 - 9:00pm

Internationally renowned guitar superstar Joe Bonamassa delivers a stunning performance at the legendary Beacon Theatre in New York City.

The B-52s with the Wild Crowd! Live in Athens, GA

Tue, 03/13/2012 - 9:30pm

A B-52s concert experience leaves no doubt as to why they are known as “the world’s greatest party band.” 

Actor and Director Kevin Indovino

Sat, 02/25/2012 - 12:00pm - 1:00pm

WXXI’s own Kevin Indovino will join host Robert Hammond in studio to discuss his theatrical career and some of his

Lawrence Welk's Big Band Splash

Sat, 03/16/2013 - 7:00pm

Lawrence Welk and his great orchestra play the music of the Big Band Era and salute legendary friends, including Glenn Miller, Benny Goodman, Duke Ellington and others.

Great Performances Presents Tony Bennett: Duets II

Fri, 03/09/2012 - 9:00pm

Thrill to the singing of the legendary Tony Bennett, who’s joined by contemporary artists.