Arts and Culture

The Met Opera presents Rigoletto

Sat, 01/22/2011 - 1:00pm

The Verdi favorite returns with great casts, including Diana Damrau, Joseph Calleja, Giuseppe Filianoti, and Željko Lucic


POV "Following Sean"

Sat, 02/05/2011 - 9:00pm

Filmmaker Ralph Arlyck revisits his child film subject 30 years later.


Met Opera: Iphigénie En Tauride

Sat, 02/26/2011 - 1:00pm

The Met Opera presents Iphigénie En Tauride.


Sun, 08/19/2012 - 2:00pm

Baritone James Maddalena stars as Nixon, a role he created to widespread acclaim.

Super Drama Sunday with Masterpiece Classic on WXXI-TV

Sun, 02/06/2011 - 12:30pm

Football not your cup of tea? Skip the Super Bowl and tune in for an afternoon of classic Jane Austen romances.

Independent Lens "For Once in My Life" on WXXI-TV

Thu, 01/12/2012 - 8:00pm

Made up of 28 musicians and singers who all have severe mental and physical disabilities, the Spirit of Goodwill Band is a raucous home away from home where members are free to display their talent, humor and tenacity.

American Radioworks' Say It Loud: Great Speeches of Civil Rights and African American Identity

Sun, 02/20/2011 - 10:00pm

Radioworks honors Black History Month with speeches by some of the most influencial activists of the Civil Rights Era.

Adjust Your Color: The Truth of Petey Greene, An Independent Lens film on WXXI-TV

Tue, 02/15/2011 - 10:00pm

Petey Greene became a leading activist during some of the most tumultuous years in recent history.

Maya Angelou's Black History Month Special

Sun, 02/17/2013 - 9:00pm

Host Maya Angelou poetically and historically covers milestones by African Americans in Nobel Peace Prize, Grammy, Academy Awards, and cultural awards.

Independent Lens "When I Rise"

Wed, 02/08/2012 - 7:00pm

The story of Barbara Smith Conrad, a gifted music student who struggled against the odds to reach the heights of international opera.

Syndicate content