Citizenship

July '64

Mon, 07/21/2014 - 9:00pm

This month marks the 50th anniversary of the three-day race riot that erupted in two African-American neighborhoods in Rochester.

»

A Humankind Special: The Right to Vote

Fri, 07/04/2014 - 12:00pm

Explore one of the most basic questions facing our democracy: who may participate?

The Campaign

Wed, 06/11/2014 - 8:00pm

Heartbreaking and inspiring, The Campaign is a human drama that follows ordinary people compelled by a passionate belief in equality to go far beyond their everyday selves.

Citizen Koch

Thu, 06/12/2014 - 6:30pm

A story about money, politics, and democracy. 

»

FRONTLINE: United States of Secrets (Part One)

Tue, 05/13/2014 - 10:00pm

Learn how the U.S. government came to monitor the communications of millions of Americans.

INDEPENDENT LENS: Let the Fire Burn

Mon, 05/12/2014 - 10:00pm

On May 13, 1985, a longtime feud between the city of Philadelphia and controversial radical urban group MOVE came to a deadly climax.

Independent Lens: A Fragile Trust: Plagiarism, Power, and Jayson Blair at the New York Times

Mon, 05/05/2014 - 10:00pm

Hear the shocking story of a promising young reporter caught plagiarizing and supplementing his own reporting with fabricated details.

RESCUE IN THE PHILIPPINES: REFUGE FROM THE HOLOCAUST

Sun, 04/27/2014 - 7:00pm

In honor of Holocaust Rememberance Day, WXXI presents a fascinating, yet seldom-told, chapter in World War II history.

Civil Rights in America: Seneca Falls, Selma, Stonewall and Beyond

Sun, 02/02/2014 - 9:00pm

Examine the relevance and meaning of civil rights in the 21st century and the relationship between the Civil Rights Movement and the efforts of women, other people of color, and the LGBT community to expand our traditional definitions of equality.

INDEPENDENT LENS: Blood Brother

Mon, 01/20/2014 - 10:00pm

Trace Rocky Braat’s journey from America to India, where he devotes his life to HIV-infected orphans. 

Syndicate content