Go Green


In support of the Greentopia Festival (September 10-15, 2013)
WXXI is proud to bring its viewers and listeners various environmental programming. Content focuses on awareness and appreciation for the environment and the planet as a whole.


Saturday, November 28, 2015 - 9:00pm
A young Tlingit makes a pilgrimage to his ancestral home and is forced to confront the dichotomy between his history and the world he lives in.
Tuesday, November 17, 2015 - 6:00pm
The Chitimacha Indians of the Atchafalaya Basin in Louisiana are known as "the People of many waters."
Wednesday, November 11, 2015 - 9:00pm
Explore the story of life and land, from origins to dinosaurs to an ancient primate invasion.
Wednesday, November 4, 2015 - 9:00pm
Journey into the deep past to discover the mighty forces that shaped our continent.
Wednesday, November 4, 2015 - 8:00pm
Explore the most extraordinary places on the planet in this three-part series.
Tuesday, November 3, 2015 - 9:00pm
A timely story of protecting land, water and a way of life.​
Tuesday, November 3, 2015 - 8:00pm
As Tina Garnanez seeks to learn about her own family history and its relationship to the uranium mines, we witness her evolution from curious family member to environmental justice activist.
Wednesday, October 14, 2015 - 8:00pm
Take an intimate look at elephants through the lens of perhaps the greatest storytellers of natural history.
Wednesday, September 30, 2015 - 9:00pm
An exploration of the remarkable life and groundbreaking ideas of biologist E.O Wilson
Wednesday, September 23, 2015 - 8:00pm
Watch as animal rescue center caregivers work to provide wild baby orphans a second chance at life.
Tuesday, September 22, 2015 - 8:00pm
Gorongosa National Park in Mozambique is one of Africa’s greatest wildlife restoration stories, living proof that nature can recover from near collapse, so long as humans protect it and help it to heal.
Wednesday, September 9, 2015 - 8:00pm
Its name stirs images of the savage, the untamable. The wolverine.
Monday, August 31, 2015 - 8:00pm
A rare opportunity to watch one of nature’s great “reality shows” delivered through state-of-the-art filming technologies and live reports from air, sea, and below the waves.
Saturday, July 25, 2015 - 6:00am
There’s nothing better than a gorgeous beach in an exotic locale.
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 - 10:00pm
Uncover the science behind the hunting instincts of the great white shark.
Tuesday, July 7, 2015 - 9:30pm
Exploring the role of Frederick Law Olmsted in the Buffalo parks system and his work with the Free Niagara Movement.
Sunday, July 5, 2015 - 2:00pm
Martin Clunes examines the role of the world's working horses as he begins training his own beloved Clydesdales
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 8:00pm
Operation Wild tells the remarkable stories of animals in need and the dedicated caregivers who push the boundaries of veterinary medicine to help them.
Sunday, June 21, 2015 - 9:00pm
The climate is going haywire, and politicians are bickering over what to do about it, or whether to do anything at all. But that’s only part of the story.
Wednesday, June 17, 2015 - 8:00pm
Examine the plight of crested black macaques, feisty monkeys with punk hair and expressive faces.


Melinda's Garden Moment




In conjunction with

Greentopia Festival

Syndicate content