Go Green

 

In support of the Greentopia Festival (September 10-15, 2013)
WXXI is proud to bring its viewers and listeners various environmental programming. Content focuses on awareness and appreciation for the environment and the planet as a whole.

Coming Up

Saturday, August 26, 2017 - 10:00pm
Determined that his last act will be a gift to the planet, musician and psychiatrist Clark Wang prepares for his own green burial.
Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 8:00pm
Iconic 19th-century painter and naturalist John James Audubon, who explored the American frontier in search of "the feathered tribes" he loved and studied, is spotlighted

Ongoing

Watch The Crowd and The Cloud on-demand, showcasing the power of Citizen Science in the Digital Age. Then pick your project to become involved in as a citizen scientist. All ages welcome!

Recently

Wednesday, August 2, 2017 - 8:00pm
Join Emmy-winning wildlife cameraman Colin Stafford-Johnson on an authored journey along Ireland’s rugged Atlantic coast
Wednesday, February 1, 2017 - 10:00pm
Examine legends about the origins and meaning of the aurora, the colorful glow in the night sky.
Saturday, January 28, 2017 - 6:00am
Sit back and let Rick Steves stoke your travel dreams.
Tuesday, January 24, 2017 - 8:00pm
Meet the scientist whose groundbreaking writings revolutionized our relationship to the natural world.
Saturday, January 21, 2017 - 6:00am
Create ushers in the Year of the Rooster with a celebration of China's food and culture.
Saturday, January 14, 2017 - 6:00am
Pack your flip-flops! This weekend, Create's travel experts and art lovers visit some of the world's best beaches.
Wednesday, January 11, 2017 - 8:00pm
Travel across the snow globe with wildlife cameraman Gordon Buchanan to meet animal survivors of winter, from the penguins of Antarctica to the Arctic fox and the bison of Yellowstone.
Wednesday, December 28, 2016 - 8:00pm
Witness the life-and-death relationship of wolves and buffalo in Canada’s Wood Buffalo National Park. 
Friday, November 18, 2016 - 7:00pm
A young Tlingit makes a pilgrimage to his ancestral home and is forced to confront the dichotomy between his history and the world he lives in.
Wednesday, November 2, 2016 - 8:00pm
Cats are among the most feared and revered creatures on the planet. Their power, strength, and enigmatic nature have fascinated us for centuries.
Wednesday, October 26, 2016 - 8:00pm
What does it take to relocate a herd of wild giraffes in Africa?

 

Melinda's Garden Moment

Resources

 

 

In conjunction with

Greentopia Festival

Syndicate content