All Past Programming

All Past Programming

Saturday, December 27, 2014 - 6:30pm
Scientist, activist, educator, and humanitarian Dr. Walter Cooper joins WXXI President Norm Silverstein
Wednesday, December 17, 2014 - 3:00pm
Enjoy the true spirit of the holiday season with Curious George and The Man with Yellow Hat!
Sunday, December 14, 2014 - 11:30am
Scientist, activist, educator, and humanitarian Dr. Walter Cooper joins WXXI President Norm Silverstein
Monday, November 17, 2014 - 7:00pm
Join the World Channel online film screening and chat that looks at the infant mortality rate in Rochester.
Saturday, November 15, 2014 - 6:30pm
The story of infant mortality in Rochester and what is being done about it. Multiple broadcasts through 11/21.
Friday, November 14, 2014 - 5:00am
Dropping Back In features half-hour programs which introduce some of America’s dropouts, theissues they face and the people and programs helping them drop back in and get on with their educations and lives. Part of WXXI's American Graduate: Let's Make It Happen Initiative:
Thursday, November 13, 2014 - 6:30pm
Join us for a free screen of a film that looks at the infant mortality rate in Rochester, followed by a panel discussion led by Maria Hinojosa. We're sorry but the event is now FULL. Other options: Online Screening 11/17 & On TV &  On-Demand on the web at this site on 11/17.
Monday, November 10, 2014 - 7:00pm
Live Online Screening/Chat: The story of why Southeast Asian Americans have some of the lowest high school completion in the U.S.
Sunday, November 2, 2014 - 10:30pm
Filmmaker Judy Lieff explores the beauty and power of American Sign Language (ASL) poetry in Deaf Jam, the story of deaf teen Aneta Brodski’s bold journey into the spoken word slam scene.
Wednesday, October 29, 2014 - 4:00pm
MAKERS Women in Space Online Screening and Live Chat with NASA Astronaut Shannon LucidWhen: Wednesday, October 29 4-5PM ETConnect to OVEE screening/chat site:  https://ovee.itvs.org/screenings/vb4br
Monday, October 13, 2014 - 10:00pm
A beautifully cinematic, character-driven documentary, Bully puts a human face on the devastating impacts of the most common form of violence experienced by young people in the nation.
Sunday, October 5, 2014 - 9:00pm
Vocational education was once a staple of American schooling
Sunday, October 5, 2014 - 2:00pm
Catch this documentary series in honor of Hispanic Heritage Month. 
Saturday, October 4, 2014 - 5:30pm
Dropping Back In features half-hour programs which introduce some of America’s dropouts, theissues they face and the people and programs helping them drop back in and get on with their educations and lives. Part of WXXI's American Graduate: Let's Make It Happen Initiative:
Saturday, September 27, 2014 - 11:00am
A full-day of broadcast event dedicated to engaging our country and community around the helping kids to graduate. Share your thoughts with us at #AmGradROC
Sunday, September 21, 2014 - 9:00pm
Explore the Common Core in this debate over the controversial academic movement. 
Sunday, September 21, 2014 - 9:00pm
Explore the Common Core in this debate over the controversial academic movement. Listen On-Demand Anytime
Sunday, September 21, 2014 - 6:00am
Watch American Graduate Week on WXXI-World September 21-30, 2014.  Program highlights, video and schedules available.
Wednesday, September 17, 2014 - 7:00pm
Watch as student leaders in Tucson High School’s Mexican American Studies Program fight to save their classes. 
Tuesday, September 9, 2014 - 7:00pm
NPR Presents Family Matters: Your Financial Lifetime is coming to Rochester! The event will be co-hosted by NPR’s Robert Smith from Planet Money and David Greene, host of NPR Morning Edition.
Tuesday, August 5, 2014 - 10:00pm
Examine the evolving, complicated relationship between teens and the companies that target them.
Monday, June 2, 2014 - 6:00am
WXXI/PBS KIDS offers FREE, fun and educational content and tools for families this summer!
Monday, June 2, 2014 - 6:00am
WXXI/PBS KIDS offers FREE, fun and educational content and tools for families this summer!
Sunday, May 18, 2014 - 9:00pm
Millennials— growing up with revolutionary technology and entering adulthood in a time of recession—have recently been much maligned. Are their critics right?
Saturday, May 17, 2014 - 3:00pm
Join us for a free screening of a collection of mini-documentaries produced by local teens.
Sunday, May 11, 2014 - 9:00pm
Is the college of the future online?
Saturday, May 10, 2014 - 10:00am
Join us for some reading fun with our friends from Lollypop Farm.
Sunday, May 4, 2014 - 9:00pm
Is it time to overhaul or abolish affirmative action?
Tuesday, April 15, 2014 - 9:00pm
Watch as students from the Greenwood School memorize, practice and recite the Gettysburg Address.
Monday, April 14, 2014 - 7:00pm
Join us for a free screening of Ken Burns' film about a group of students who recite the Gettysburg Address as part of a school project.
Monday, March 31, 2014 - 10:00pm
In Indiana, where life revolves around high school basketball, what happens to a community when their beloved team can no longer win a single game?
Monday, March 31, 2014 - 7:00pm
Join us for a film that looks at a down-but-not-out varsity basketball team as it struggles to compete parallel the town's own fight for survival.

 

 
Syndicate content