Hispanic Heritage Month

WXXI celebrates Hispanic Heritage
with a strong slate of new and encore
programming that features Hispanic
Americans who have enriched our nation.
We invite you to join us by tuning in.

Coming Up

Tuesday, April 29, 2014 - 9:00pm
Examine the life and mysterious death of pioneering Mexican-American journalist Ruben Salazar. 
Saturday, May 3, 2014 - 6:00am
Celebrate Mexican heritage and pride!  

Recently

Wednesday, April 2, 2014 - 10:00pm
Learn if Carthaginians fleeing the conquering Romans may have taken refuge in South America. 
Monday, February 17, 2014 - 10:00pm
Follow the Mexican-American girls who help preserve the Martha Washington debutante ball in Laredo. 
Sunday, February 2, 2014 - 9:00pm
Examine the relevance and meaning of civil rights in the 21st century and the relationship between the Civil Rights Movement and the efforts of women, other people of color, and the LGBT community to expand our traditional definitions of equality.
Monday, January 27, 2014 - 10:00pm
The State of Arizona, an Independent Lens presentation, captures the explosive emotions and complex realities behind Arizona’s headline-grabbing struggle with illegal immigration.
Monday, October 14, 2013 - 9:00pm
This film illustrates the opposition to the controversial HR4437 immigration bill as well as the ongoing struggle and demand for comprehensive immigration reform.
Sunday, October 13, 2013 - 7:00pm
The story of Cruz Reynoso, the first Latino justice to serve in the state's highest court. 
Tuesday, October 8, 2013 - 6:00pm
Alejandro Santiago went home. What he found led him on an artist journey of local and global significance.
Saturday, October 5, 2013 - 6:00am
Travel the Caribbean and South America in honor of Hispanic Heritage month.
Friday, October 4, 2013 - 7:30pm
An in-depth celebration of the legendary Father of the Mambo, Israel “Cachao” Lopez.
Friday, October 4, 2013 - 6:00pm
In one of the world’s most beautiful churches, this all-women orchestra plays a unique blend of classical music, created by famous Cuban and Latin American composers.
Tuesday, October 1, 2013 - 8:00pm
Witness the creation of the proud “Chicano” identity, growing Latino activism and influence on American culture, and the debate over undocumented immigrants. 
Tuesday, October 1, 2013 - 6:30pm
Join WXXI for special screening of highlights from this docu-series that chronicles the history of Latinos followed by a celebratory reception.
Monday, September 30, 2013 - 9:00pm
Follow one man’s journey to bring his life story to the New York stage while battling his darkest demons.
Sunday, September 29, 2013 - 2:00pm
Join President and Michelle Obama for a White House concert in honor of Hispanic Heritage Month. 
Thursday, September 26, 2013 - 6:00pm
Our Time is Now is a coming-of-age documentary following six New Mexico teenagers as they strive to finish high school, wrestle with personal challenges, and pursue their dreams.
Monday, September 23, 2013 - 12:00pm
Uruguayan-born composer, musician, performer, and professor Elbio Barilari hosts this new ten-concert series devoted to Latino concert music.
Friday, September 20, 2013 - 6:00pm
VOCES showcases Latino artists, athletes and performers who reflect their culture while defying all expectations. 
Thursday, September 19, 2013 - 2:00pm
This is the story of a librarian — and a library — like no other.
Tuesday, September 17, 2013 - 8:00pm
Actor Benjamin Bratt narrates this three-part documentary series.
Monday, September 16, 2013 - 9:00pm
Filmmaker Laura Varela examines the personal toll of the Vietnam War, and asks the question, “Does a soldier, his family and community ever really heal from the wounds of war?”  

 

Hispanic Heritage Month

Group notifications

This group offers an RSS feed. Or subscribe to these personalized, sitewide feeds:
Syndicate content