Carnegie Hall Spring For Music with the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra

Carnegie Hall Spring For Music with the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra

Wed, 05/07/2014 - 7:30pm

Pictured: Carnegie Hall

Credit: Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra

The Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, singers from the Eastman School of Music Opera Department, and the Eastman-Rochester Chorus perform a concert version of Howard Hanson’s Merry Mount at Carnegie Hall.

WXXI is proud to present this concert Carnegie Hall Spring For Music with the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra live from New York City on Wednesday, May 7 at 7:30 p.m. on Classical 91.5. To listen online, click here to stream Classical 91.5.

This opera in three acts was written by American composer, conductor, and music educator Howard Hanson, who led the Eastman School of Music from 1924-1964. 

Performers include: Richard Zeller, baritone; Sara Jakubiak, soprano; Charles Austin, bass; Christopher Pfund, tenor; Keith Brown, baritone; Ashley Hibbard, mezzo-soprano; Samuel Krall, baritone; Anthony Web, tenor; Matthew Valverde, tenor; Joshua Ooms, baritone; Nicholas Kilkenny, bass; Migle Zaliukaite, mezzo-soprano; Trevor Cook, baritone;David Gleichman, var; Anna Bekker, mezzo-soprano; Adam Daughton, boy soprano; Caitlin Glastonbury, child soprano; Bach Children’s Chorus of Nazareth College; Eastman-Rochester Chorus; Michael Christie, conductor.

Carnegie Hall Live Series:

NPR Music is making select "Carnegie Hall Live" concerts available in our NPR Classical Live web channel. Each concert will feature live audio and a live national chatroom moderated by members of APM, WQXR and NPR Music.

Spring For Music: Seattle Symphony

Tuesday, May 6th 7:30 pm ET

Spring For Music: Cincinnati Symphony

Friday May 9th, 7:30 p.m. ET