History

History programs on WXXI TV and Radio as well as online discussion and special events hosted by WXXI are featured below.

Coming Up

Wednesday, December 3, 2014 - 9:00pm
View an intimate portrait of Neil Armstrong, the first person to set foot on the moon.
Friday, December 5, 2014 - 7:00pm
Taking a journey that is both historical and relevant today, acclaimed journalist and author Rageh Omaar documents Muhammad’s life

Recently

Tuesday, November 25, 2014 - 10:00pm
Johnny Carson (1925 –2005) was seen by more people on more occasions than anyone else in American history.
Monday, November 24, 2014 - 8:00pm
Take a moving look at a new generation of Americans struggling to be both Native and modern.
Monday, November 24, 2014 - 7:00pm
For Navajo and Hopi Tribes, running is more than a sport. 
Tuesday, November 18, 2014 - 10:00pm
FRONTLINE and ProPublica investigate the relationship between Firestone and the infamous Liberian warlord Charles Taylor.
Tuesday, November 18, 2014 - 9:00pm
Revisit one of the most bizarre episodes in the annals of modern history — the unprecedented barnstorming across America by Soviet Premier Nikita Khrushchev
Monday, November 17, 2014 - 10:00pm
See how television may affect a Bhutanese child isolated from commerce, materialism and celebrity.
Monday, November 17, 2014 - 8:00pm
This compelling documentary invites viewers into the lives of contemporary Native American role models living in the midwest.
Monday, November 17, 2014 - 7:00pm
A documentary film about Comanche activist LaDonna Harris
Sunday, November 16, 2014 - 9:00pm
It used to be that, in many parts of the world, educating a girl was not only a low priority but was prevented by social customs or economic pressures.
Friday, November 14, 2014 - 6:00pm
The uphill battles of the 10th Mountain Division.
Wednesday, November 12, 2014 - 9:00pm
Investigate how and why life-sized terracotta statues were made for Emperor Qin Shi Huang of China.
Sunday, November 9, 2014 - 11:30am
Tune in for this WXXI original documentary about group of local individuals who are working to build schools in South Sudan.
Friday, November 7, 2014 - 9:00pm
Join President and Mrs. Obama for an all-star tribute to the men and women who serve the United States.
Thursday, November 6, 2014 - 8:00pm
Tune in for this WXXI original documentary about group of local individuals who are working to build schools in South Sudan.
Thursday, November 6, 2014 - 7:00pm
Called by some the "original Code Talkers", this is the story of the important role Choctaw soldiers played in WWI.
Wednesday, October 22, 2014 - 9:00pm
Watch the re-creation of an 18th-century hot air balloon, using period tools and materials.
Friday, October 17, 2014 - 7:00pm
Examine the dramatic life of writer/activist Alice Walker, author of The Color Purple.
Wednesday, October 15, 2014 - 9:00pm
Looks at the little-known stories of revolutionary innovations that play a role in just about every aspect of our daily lives. 
Monday, October 13, 2014 - 9:00pm
This film explores the quintessential American issues of free speech and ethnic pride against the backdrop of the ongoing Columbus Day parade controversy in Denver, Colorado. 
Tuesday, October 7, 2014 - 10:00pm
Did Texas execute an innocent man?
Syndicate content