Music

Poet Berthold Auerbach once said,

“Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”
WXXI hopes that it inspires its audiences every day, and that you find the concert of musical content on this page equally inspiring. » read more about Music at WXXI

Coming Up

Wednesday, August 13, 2014 - 8:00pm
Tommy Emmanuel is arguably the greatest living acoustic guitar player and recognized as the elite of the elite.
Friday, August 15, 2014 - 9:00pm
From the R&B pioneers to the teen crooners, the 1950s and early 1960s were an exciting musical time for the youth of America.
Thursday, August 28, 2014 - 9:00pm
Legendary violinist Itzhak Perlman and renowned cantor Yitzchak Meir Helfgot join forces for a musical exploration of liturgical and traditional works in new arrangements for both chamber orchestra and klezmer settings on Great Performances. 

Ongoing

Mondays at 8:00PM
August includes a variety of works ranging from Holst's The Planets to Piazzolla's The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires. Other featured composers include Walton, Mendelssohn, Mahler, Brahms, Barber, Copland and Falla.  Join us on Mondays at 8pm.

Recently

Monday, July 21, 2014 - 8:00pm
Classical 91.5 is pleased to present an encore broadcast of this concert, which was taped before  a live audience in New York City last May. 
Friday, June 27, 2014 - 9:00pm
An exciting young cast stars in Franco Zeffirelli’s lavish production of Giacomo Puccini’s popular work, the most-performed opera in Met history.
Monday, June 23, 2014 - 12:00am
Celebrate the New Orleans heritage of jazz music and one of the most notable and influential individuals of the genre: Louis Armstrong.
Friday, June 13, 2014 - 9:00pm
A star-studded event featuring some of Tanglewood’s most distinguished and longtime guests.
Friday, May 30, 2014 - 9:00pm
Explore the highs and the lows of David Geffen’s career in the record industry with American Masters. 
share

 

Related Blog Posts

Sat, 06/21/2014 - 2:26pm
Mon, 06/09/2014 - 6:12pm
Fri, 05/09/2014 - 9:09pm
Thu, 05/08/2014 - 7:39am
Wed, 05/07/2014 - 8:31am

Music

Syndicate content