Music

Poet Berthold Auerbach once said,

“Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”
WXXI hopes that it inspires its audiences every day, and that you find the concert of musical content on this page equally inspiring. » read more about Music at WXXI

Coming Up

Sunday, June 26, 2016 - 3:30pm
WXXI and the City of Rochester present a half-hour special that highlights the history of the spoken word in African-American culture and how it influenced jazz.
Sunday, June 26, 2016 - 8:00pm
Written and directed by acclaimed writer Stephen Poliakoff, Dancing on the Edge is a 1930’s period drama detailing the rise of the Louis Lester Band – a black jazz band in London led by Louis Lester, played by BAFTA Award-Winner Chiwetel Ejiofor.

Ongoing

Saturdays at 1:00 p.m.
The Lyric Opera's 2016 season continues with operas by Berg, Lehar, Verdi and Richard Strauss.

Recently

Tuesday, June 21, 2016 - 1:00pm
Host Julia Figueras welcomes faculty members of the MostArts Festival at Alfred University to the WXXI studios
Friday, June 17, 2016 - 9:00pm
WXXI gets you ready for this year's Xerox Rochester International Jazz Festival by presenting an encore broadcast of four of last year's musical performances.
Friday, June 10, 2016 - 9:00pm
Joan Baez celebrated her 75th birthday on Saturday, January 27 at New York’s historic Beacon Theatre.
Thursday, June 9, 2016 - 8:00pm
Celebrate legendary artists of the 1960s and 70s brought together in a once-in-a-lifetime concert
Tuesday, June 7, 2016 - 8:00pm
Enjoy the groundbreaking folk group’s biggest hits and more 1950s and ’60s chart toppers
share

 

Related Blog Posts

Tue, 05/31/2016 - 11:25am
Wed, 03/30/2016 - 1:08pm
Fri, 03/11/2016 - 12:19pm

Music

Syndicate content