Carnegie Hall Spring For Music with the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra

(Rochester, New York) -  The Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, singers from the Eastman School of Music Opera Department, and the Eastman-Rochester Chorus perform a concert version of Howard Hanson’s Merry Mount at Carnegie Hall in New York City on May 7. WXXI is proud to present a live broadcast of this concert –  Carnegie Hall Spring For Music with the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra Wednesday, May 7, 2014 at 7:30 p.m. on Classical 91.5

This opera in three acts was written by American composer, conductor and music educator Howard Hanson, who led the Eastman School of Music from 1924-1964. 

Performers include: Richard Zeller, baritone; Sara Jakubiak, soprano; Charles Austin, bass; Christopher Pfund, tenor; Keith Brown, baritone; Ashley Hibbard, mezzo-soprano; Samuel Krall, baritone; Anthony Web, tenor; Matthew Valverde, tenor; Joshua Ooms, baritone; Nicholas Kilkenny, bass; Migle Zaliukaite, mezzo-soprano; Trevor Cook, baritone;David Gleichman, var; Anna Bekker, mezzo-soprano; Adam Daughton, boy soprano; Caitlin Glasonbury, child soprano; Bach Children’s Chorus of Nazareth College; Eastman-Rochester Chorus; Michael Christie, conductor

Pictured: Carnegie Hall
Credit: Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra


WXXI is the essential, life-long educational media resource for the Greater Rochester area. WXXI puts the community first with programming that stimulates and expands thought, inspires the spirit, opens cultural horizons and promotes understanding of diverse community issues. Log on to for more information about our services and programs.


WXXI Media Contact:

Kristin Tutino

Creative Services Department

[email protected]


Go to the NPR Pressroom

Go to the PBS Pressroom

Get logos for Media Use

Read our Media Policy

Radio Archives

TV Archives