Fascinatin' Rhythm Listings Archive

Aired: Thu, 03/06/2014 (All day)

“If It Wasn’t for the Irish and the Jews”
From the Irish to the Jews in Tin Pan Alley, a musical history about discrimination and acceptance.

Aired: Thu, 02/27/2014 (All day)

Satch and Bing
Friends at a time when blacks and whites were rarely friends, Armstrong and Crosby had a rare chemistry when they performed together.

Aired: Thu, 02/20/2014 (All day)

Life Is Like a Train
Even if it isn’t, follow along for a century of songs about riding the rails, from the suburbs to the other end of the continent.

Aired: Thu, 02/13/2014 (All day)

Good Times and Bad
It’s always a time for hope, but preferably with your eyes wide open.

Aired: Thu, 02/06/2014 (All day)

Sob Songs
Irving Berlin coined the term so here are the great “sob songs,” music and words by the master.

Aired: Thu, 01/30/2014 (All day)

The Songs of William Jerome
An important lyricist from Tin Pan Alley when sheet music decided the fate of a song.

Aired: Thu, 01/23/2014 - 12:01am

Maceo Pinkard and His Lyricists

Maceo Pinkard was the first African-American composer to work mainly with white lyricists.

Aired: Thu, 01/16/2014 - 12:01am

Love with an Edge

Love songs that trade in limits, irony, hard-eyed clarity – and unquenchable romanticism.



Aired: Thu, 01/09/2014 - 12:01am

Spirituals and Minstrel Songs

African-American music in the 19th century, from the sacred to the profane, the exalted to the demeaning.

Aired: Thu, 01/02/2014 - 12:01am

Lead Up to Oklahoma!

Oklahoma! was the start of something new, but it was also the culmination of many things that preceded it.

Listings prior to August 2012 can only found by using the navigation menu to the left.

 

 
Syndicate content