Fascinatin' Rhythm Listings Archive

Aired: Thu, 10/10/2013 - 12:01am

Alexander’s Ragtime Band, Plus

There has never been a more important song than “Alexander’s Ragtime Band,” now just over a hundred years old.

Aired: Thu, 10/03/2013 - 12:01am

Just Enough Woman for Me

The range of what love songs come up with, from the more-or-less conventional to the nearly nuts

Aired: Thu, 09/26/2013 - 12:01am

Winners and Losers
Songs for betting everything you’ve got on love and winning. Sometimes.

Aired: Thu, 09/19/2013 - 12:01am

Richard Whiting in the 1930s
The second hour of Richard Whiting’s songs, culminating in his untimely death at the age of 46.

Aired: Thu, 09/12/2013 - 12:01am

Richard Whiting in the 1920s
The first of two parts devoted to the songs of one of the Hollywood’s major songwriters.

Aired: Thu, 09/05/2013 - 12:01am

And the World Goes Round
Songs in which the world is everything from great, big, wide, and wonderful to a place you’re sitting on top of.

Aired: Thu, 08/29/2013 - 12:01am

You, That’s Who
One of the essential participants in popular music’s two-character stories.

Aired: Thu, 08/22/2013 - 12:01am

Free and Easy
Despite all the romantic hyperbole, popular music has always had an essential strain that’s laid back, relaxed, and, as the title says, free and easy.

Aired: Thu, 08/15/2013 - 12:01am

The Country Boy Goes to Town
The country and the rural are the two poles of Hoagy Carmichael’s songs.

Aired: Thu, 08/08/2013 - 12:01am

Women on the Edge
On the edge of a new world, that is, as standards of romantic behavior were changing.

Listings prior to August 2012 can only found by using the navigation menu to the left.

 

 
Syndicate content