Fascinatin' Rhythm Listings Archive

Aired: Thu, 11/08/2012 - 12:01am

Blossom and The Smiths
Among the busiest lyricists of their time, Henry Blossom and brothers Harry and Robert Smith were among the best and best known of the lot.

Aired: Thu, 11/01/2012 - 12:01am

Broadway Trios
An often-rollicking crescendo of many of the best Broadway musicals, trios offer close harmony, bouncy rhythms, and three viewpoints in one.

Aired: Thu, 10/25/2012 - 12:01am

Halfway to Heaven
Moves to the suburbs, not in the 1940s, but the 1920s, accompanied by popular songs.

Aired: Thu, 10/18/2012 - 12:01am

The Melodies of Richard Rodgers
Whether he wrote for Lorenz Hart or Oscar Hammerstein, Richard Rodgers provided the perfect setting for their strikingly different lyrics.

Aired: Thu, 10/11/2012 - 12:01am

From Friend to Lover
There’s friendship and there are love affairs, but sometimes one morphs into the other.

Aired: Thu, 10/04/2012 - 12:01am

The Breakthrough Year of 1925
By the middle of the decade, America was ready to change. New ways of thinking and behaving soon turned up in our songs.

Aired: Thu, 09/27/2012 - 12:01am

Love with an Edge
Love songs that trade in limits, irony, hard-eyed clarity… and unquenchable romanticism.

Aired: Thu, 09/20/2012 - 12:01am

That Eccentric Rag
There were early rags and then the classic rags of Scott Joplin, and then there were the later Eccentric Rags, intricate and ornate, by Zez Confrey and his contemporaries.

Aired: Thu, 09/13/2012 - 12:01am

Young and Donnelly
When songwriting was no job for a woman, these two wrote the two greatest operettas in American theater history.

Aired: Thu, 09/06/2012 - 12:01am

Independent Women from the 40s
They marched in review, drove cabs, and welded aircraft carriers. They were the independent women of World War II, and we told their stories in songs.

Listings prior to August 2012 can only found by using the navigation menu to the left.

 

 
Syndicate content