Fascinatin' Rhythm Listings Archive

Aired: Thu, 12/06/2012 - 12:01am

Satch and Bing
Friends at a time when blacks and whites were rarely friends, Armstrong and Crosby had a rare chemistry when they performed together.

Aired: Thu, 11/29/2012 - 12:01am

Looking for a Bluebird
In love songs and Pollyanna songs alike, and with a bluebird as their central image, everyone is always looking for true love and perfect happiness.

Aired: Thu, 11/22/2012 - 12:01am

Abe Lincoln in Song
Campaign songs, comic songs, and soaring anthems: how the songs of his time portrayed America’s 16th president.

Aired: Thu, 11/15/2012 - 12:01am

Hello to a Flower
Fooling around with a familiar image to make a song distinctive.

Aired: Thu, 11/08/2012 - 12:01am

Blossom and The Smiths
Among the busiest lyricists of their time, Henry Blossom and brothers Harry and Robert Smith were among the best and best known of the lot.

Aired: Thu, 11/01/2012 - 12:01am

Broadway Trios
An often-rollicking crescendo of many of the best Broadway musicals, trios offer close harmony, bouncy rhythms, and three viewpoints in one.

Aired: Thu, 10/25/2012 - 12:01am

Halfway to Heaven
Moves to the suburbs, not in the 1940s, but the 1920s, accompanied by popular songs.

Aired: Thu, 10/18/2012 - 12:01am

The Melodies of Richard Rodgers
Whether he wrote for Lorenz Hart or Oscar Hammerstein, Richard Rodgers provided the perfect setting for their strikingly different lyrics.

Aired: Thu, 10/11/2012 - 12:01am

From Friend to Lover
There’s friendship and there are love affairs, but sometimes one morphs into the other.

Aired: Thu, 10/04/2012 - 12:01am

The Breakthrough Year of 1925
By the middle of the decade, America was ready to change. New ways of thinking and behaving soon turned up in our songs.

Listings prior to August 2012 can only found by using the navigation menu to the left.

 

 
Syndicate content