Science & Nature

Science & Nature programs on WXXI TV
and Radio as well as online discussion
and special events hosted by WXXI are featured below.

Upcoming

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 - 8:00pm
The striking white Lipizzaner stallions of the famed Spanish Riding School in Vienna have been thrilling audiences for centuries.

Recently

Wednesday, November 30, 2016 - 8:00pm
Celebrate the centennial of the National Park Service with a stunning visual portrait of the breathtaking landscapes of Utah’s “Mighty Five” national parks set to a score selected and recorded by Music Director Thierry Fischer and The Utah Symphony.
Wednesday, November 23, 2016 - 10:00am
WXXI is pleased to bring its youngest viewers the new series from PBS Kids – Splash and Bubbles
Monday, November 21, 2016 - 9:00pm
While turkey certainly makes for a delicious Thanksgiving dinner, there’s a lot to love about these humble creatures year-round.
Wednesday, November 2, 2016 - 8:00pm
Cats are among the most feared and revered creatures on the planet. Their power, strength, and enigmatic nature have fascinated us for centuries.
Wednesday, October 26, 2016 - 8:00pm
What does it take to relocate a herd of wild giraffes in Africa?
Tuesday, October 18, 2016 - 9:00pm
American Experience: Tesla, a new portrait of the visionary genius who envisioned our wireless age airs Tuesday, October 18, 2016 at 9 p.m. on WXXI-TV.
Wednesday, October 12, 2016 - 8:00pm
Enter the fast-paced world of hummingbirds through high-speed cameras and breakthrough science.
Wednesday, October 5, 2016 - 9:00pm
Our ancestors’ adventurousness, creativity and adaptability got us this far. But are we as capable of adapting to the changes to come?
Wednesday, September 28, 2016 - 8:00pm
Understand how Earth’s colors are created and what they mean.
Sunday, September 25, 2016 - 9:00pm
In 2014, a permit to hunt a single endangered black rhino was sold for $350,000… as part of a program to support its conservation in Namibia. Counterintuitive?
Wednesday, September 21, 2016 - 10:00pm
Join wildlife biologist Liz Bonnin, actor Freida Pinto and mountaineer Jon Gupta to explore India’s natural wonders.
Monday, August 15, 2016 - 4:00pm
READY JET GO! is a new PBS KIDS earth science and astronomy series for children ages 3-8.
Wednesday, August 3, 2016 - 10:00pm
Investigate the rise of spillover viruses like Zika, Ebola and Nipah that can make the leap from animals to humans.
Wednesday, August 3, 2016 - 8:00pm
In 1971, Penny Patterson began teaching sign language to a gorilla named Koko, unaware that this relationship would define both their lives.
Thursday, July 28, 2016 - 8:00pm
Trace humankind’s long journey from hunter-gatherer to dominant global species.
Sunday, July 10, 2016 - 3:30pm
The Hemlock Woolly Adelgid. A species few people have heard of – yet it is devastating the Hemlock forests and the delicate ecosystems that depend upon them.
Wednesday, July 6, 2016 - 8:00pm
The sky is one of the world’s most challenging places to thrive, but across the planet an extraordinary and unexpected range of animals does something we can only dream of – takes to the air. 
Wednesday, June 22, 2016 - 8:00pm
Investigate the problems facing a unique population of polar bears due to climate change.
Wednesday, June 15, 2016 - 8:00pm
Visit Monterey Bay, California, to view the confluence of creatures in its thriving ecosystem.
Wednesday, June 8, 2016 - 8:00pm
Examine the proliferation of protected lands and the protection of predatory animals.

 

Visit our other special pages

Syndicate content