Science & Nature

Science & Nature programs on WXXI TV
and Radio as well as online discussion
and special events hosted by WXXI are featured below.

Recently

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 - 9:00pm
The centuries-old tradition of folding two-dimensional paper into three-dimensional shapes is inspiring a scientific revolution.
Wednesday, February 1, 2017 - 10:00pm
Examine legends about the origins and meaning of the aurora, the colorful glow in the night sky.
Tuesday, January 24, 2017 - 8:00pm
Meet the scientist whose groundbreaking writings revolutionized our relationship to the natural world.
Wednesday, January 11, 2017 - 8:00pm
Travel across the snow globe with wildlife cameraman Gordon Buchanan to meet animal survivors of winter, from the penguins of Antarctica to the Arctic fox and the bison of Yellowstone.
Monday, January 9, 2017 - 10:00pm
Explore our attempts to plan for our radioactive future and the startling failure to manage waste in the present.
Wednesday, January 4, 2017 - 10:00pm
Follow scientists as they uncover “deviant” burials dating back to medieval England, pointing to a belief that the dead could rise from their graves.
Wednesday, December 28, 2016 - 8:00pm
Witness the life-and-death relationship of wolves and buffalo in Canada’s Wood Buffalo National Park. 
Wednesday, December 14, 2016 - 8:00pm
The striking white Lipizzaner stallions of the famed Spanish Riding School in Vienna have been thrilling audiences for centuries.
Wednesday, November 30, 2016 - 8:00pm
Celebrate the centennial of the National Park Service with a stunning visual portrait of the breathtaking landscapes of Utah’s “Mighty Five” national parks set to a score selected and recorded by Music Director Thierry Fischer and The Utah Symphony.
Wednesday, November 23, 2016 - 10:00am
WXXI is pleased to bring its youngest viewers the new series from PBS Kids – Splash and Bubbles
Monday, November 21, 2016 - 9:00pm
While turkey certainly makes for a delicious Thanksgiving dinner, there’s a lot to love about these humble creatures year-round.
Wednesday, November 2, 2016 - 8:00pm
Cats are among the most feared and revered creatures on the planet. Their power, strength, and enigmatic nature have fascinated us for centuries.
Wednesday, October 26, 2016 - 8:00pm
What does it take to relocate a herd of wild giraffes in Africa?
Tuesday, October 18, 2016 - 9:00pm
American Experience: Tesla, a new portrait of the visionary genius who envisioned our wireless age airs Tuesday, October 18, 2016 at 9 p.m. on WXXI-TV.
Wednesday, October 12, 2016 - 8:00pm
Enter the fast-paced world of hummingbirds through high-speed cameras and breakthrough science.
Wednesday, October 5, 2016 - 9:00pm
Our ancestors’ adventurousness, creativity and adaptability got us this far. But are we as capable of adapting to the changes to come?
Wednesday, September 28, 2016 - 8:00pm
Understand how Earth’s colors are created and what they mean.
Sunday, September 25, 2016 - 9:00pm
In 2014, a permit to hunt a single endangered black rhino was sold for $350,000… as part of a program to support its conservation in Namibia. Counterintuitive?
Wednesday, September 21, 2016 - 10:00pm
Join wildlife biologist Liz Bonnin, actor Freida Pinto and mountaineer Jon Gupta to explore India’s natural wonders.
Monday, August 15, 2016 - 4:00pm
READY JET GO! is a new PBS KIDS earth science and astronomy series for children ages 3-8.

 

Visit our other special pages

Syndicate content