Science & Nature

Science & Nature programs on WXXI TV
and Radio as well as online discussion
and special events hosted by WXXI are featured below.

Upcoming

Tuesday, December 30, 2014 - 6:30pm
No one gets to Antarctica by accident.
Tuesday, December 30, 2014 - 8:00pm
They say love knows no bleeping boundaries.
Thursday, January 1, 2015 - 1:00pm
FutureCar: Accelerating into the Future, a one-hour special that explores the latest technological advances for the automobile
Wednesday, January 7, 2015 - 8:00pm
Take a trip to the wild side of France.

Recently

Wednesday, December 24, 2014 - 9:00pm
NOVA explores the architectural triumph of the great Gothic cathedrals.
Wednesday, December 24, 2014 - 8:00pm
Explore the diversity of wildlife and habitats of the Himalayas.
Thursday, December 18, 2014 - 8:30pm
Few things are as sad or shocking than to hear of a child diagnosed with cancer. 
Tuesday, December 16, 2014 - 10:00pm
Join Matt Damon to see links among extreme weather, climate change and threats to national security.
Sunday, December 14, 2014 - 9:00pm
Genetically modified (GM) foods have been around for decades - but are they safe?
Wednesday, December 3, 2014 - 9:00pm
View an intimate portrait of Neil Armstrong, the first person to set foot on the moon.
Wednesday, December 3, 2014 - 8:00pm
Nature’s special presentation of Best of Birds is a compilation of the most compelling, emotional and even humorous stories about bird intelligence
Wednesday, November 26, 2014 - 8:00pm
Experience the true story of writer and naturalist Joe Hutto (portrayed by Jeff Palmer) as he raises a family of turkey chicks.
Wednesday, November 19, 2014 - 10:00pm
Watch the daring attempt to land an orbiter on the surface of a comet as it zooms around the sun.
Wednesday, November 19, 2014 - 8:00pm
Examine the impact of an ever-growing number of killer whales in Arctic waters in the summer months.
Monday, November 17, 2014 - 10:00pm
See how television may affect a Bhutanese child isolated from commerce, materialism and celebrity.
Sunday, November 16, 2014 - 7:00pm
Martin Clunes examines the role of the world's working horses as he begins training his own beloved Clydesdales
Sunday, November 9, 2014 - 9:00pm
The Keystone XL pipeline has been a controversial project in both the United States and Canada.
Wednesday, November 5, 2014 - 9:00pm
Follow the paleontologists who are reconstructing a terrifying carnivore dubbed Spinosaurus.
Wednesday, November 5, 2014 - 8:00pm
Examine the friendship between a journalist and a sloth, and see people trying to protect sloths.
Wednesday, November 5, 2014 - 7:00pm
See why the consequences of the Navajos’ relocation by the U.S. military in 1864 continue to this day. 
Wednesday, October 15, 2014 - 9:00pm
Looks at the little-known stories of revolutionary innovations that play a role in just about every aspect of our daily lives. 
Wednesday, September 24, 2014 - 8:00pm
Witness the intimate, emotional and sometimes amusing behavior of nature’s most devoted parents.
Wednesday, August 27, 2014 - 9:00pm
Uncover the science behind the hunting instincts of the great white shark.
Wednesday, July 9, 2014 - 10:00pm
Can the latest scientific techniques and clues unearthed in archives finally solve the mystery of the two Mona Lisas?

 

Visit our other special pages

Syndicate content