Women's History Month

In honor of Women's History Month, WXXI-TV and Radio will broadcast a variety of programs featuring the women who shaped the world and those who continue to shape it.


Sunday, August 16, 2015 - 3:30pm
This film explores the increasing racial diversity and shift in attitudes toward musicians of color in the classical music world through Ann Hobson Pilot's professional journey.
Friday, July 17, 2015 - 10:30pm
Take a hilarious year-long ride with iconic comedian Joan Rivers in her 76th year of life.
Friday, June 26, 2015 - 10:00pm
Examine Norma Miller's influence in the globalization of America's jazz culture and her role in breaking down racial barriers across the United States and around the world.
Tuesday, April 7, 2015 - 10:00pm
With Yemen in chaos, this film exposes the violent feuds tearing the country apart
Friday, March 20, 2015 - 6:00pm
Pancho Barnes is a fascinating yet enigmatic icon whose swagger is often celebrated, but whose story has been largely unknown. Until now.
Tuesday, March 17, 2015 - 6:00pm
Meet two Indian women: a pageant contestant and the leader of a fundamentalist Hindu camp for girls. 
Monday, March 16, 2015 - 7:00pm
Her celebrated photograph Migrant Mother is one of the most recognized and arresting images in the world.
Monday, March 16, 2015 - 3:00pm
Rafea is 30 years old with four children and a husband who is eager to take a third wife.
Monday, March 16, 2015 - 12:00am
A tribute to the remarkable life and legacy of Margaret "Maggie" Ringenberg (1921-2008), a U.S. Army Air Force WASP (Women's Air Service Pilot) and renowned long-distance aviation racer.
Friday, March 13, 2015 - 7:00pm
Track the rise of women in the world of comedy, from 70s sitcoms to today’s multifaceted landscape.
Wednesday, March 11, 2015 - 8:00pm
Follow the Mexican-American girls who help preserve the Martha Washington debutante ball in Laredo. 
Tuesday, March 10, 2015 - 7:00pm
View a portrait of a Syrian leader who challenges women to live according to Islam without giving up their dreams. 
Monday, March 9, 2015 - 8:00pm
Before World War II, war reporting was considered No Job For a Woman.
Saturday, March 7, 2015 - 12:00pm
In recognition of Women’s History Month, join host Robert Hammond
Friday, March 6, 2015 - 6:00pm
Six GYN cancer surgeons take on the Big C with Rock 'n' Roll. Their patients become the band's most ardent fans.
Wednesday, March 4, 2015 - 9:00pm
Trace a teenaged rape victim’s five-year odyssey through Pakistan’s flawed justice system. 
Sunday, March 1, 2015 - 11:30pm
Examine the dramatic life of writer/activist Alice Walker, author of The Color Purple.
Sunday, March 1, 2015 - 9:00pm
"Is this how I'm going to die?" "How do I pay for this?" "Do I still believe in God?"
Monday, February 23, 2015 - 7:00pm
Discover the life, music and influence of African-American gospel singer and guitar virtuoso Rosetta Tharpe. 
Syndicate content